Cutting the [trainer] cord?

I’ve been working with a trainer for almost 2 years now, and had phenomenal results (hit multiple PR’s, followed by an epic shred for a BB competition last June). I could not have done this without him.

At this point though, I’m not prepping for anything. And having a trainer is expensive. I got my macros on autopilot (thanks to keto :wink:). I pretty much have my form down for most basic lifts; so I rarely need help. I hope to go off on my own beginning January.

I’m looking to continue building muscle and strength, with a good balance of compound and focused lifts.

I want to start research on doing it myself, but I have some concerns…

• How do I build a workout regimen without taking up all of my time figuring it out?
  • If I purchase a pre-packaged workout regimen. How do I get help with new lifts? What do I substitute if my gym doesn’t have the right equipment?
  • How can I trust the shit I’m reading (and possibly paying for) on the interwebs isn’t pure bullshit? I can at least challenge my trainer on things, and he will make references to his sources.

There’s a crap-ton of info and garbage out there. Where do I start?

Thoughts?

1 Like

Hey man, shoot me an email. matttowson@gmail.com - this is my entire approach.

I’ve worked with Neil Hill, Mike O’Hearn, Layne Norton, and the common denominator is exactly what you said - if you aren’t prepping for anything, you can absolutely make your own program for progress.

I tell all my clients that if they still have to pay me after a year, then I failed them (excluding contest prep clients). I’ll be happy to send you my stuff and give you any/all insights I have.

3 Likes

Run a program for 8-12 weeks. reassess the following:
are you beating the log book?
Are you getting adequate MMC (Mind muscle connection)
are you stimulating the muscle properly?
How is your form?