Chadd's First Bodybuilding Competition Log

2018 is just around the corner, and on January 1 I begin shredding for my first bodybuilding competition in June. I’ll be competing in the Masters (I’ll be 41 at the time of the show) and Open Bodybuilding classes at the Naturally Fit Super Show here in Austin. I’m going to start tracking and sharing my journey here. Hopefully it will help me with accountability, lol!

First, a little back story…
It has been quite a journey so far. Until this year, I made up my own workouts (no trainers, no forums, just winging it), not really making much progress. Then in January 2017, I started training with Alex (yeah, that guy you sometimes see in the PricePlow videos) at FTA Gym simple goal of packing on muscle. Trainers at the gym would joke with me, saying it’s a waste that I don’t compete with my physique :laughing:. So, finally in July, I broke down, and said…“okay…maybe”. So we continued packing on muscle through 2017, with the intent of shredding in the new year.

Over the course of this year, I packed on 20 lb while maintaining 20% body fat. Here’s the stats:

January 2017: Began training regimen, 5-6 days/week

• Weight: 187 lb
  • Body Fat: ???
  • Caloric intake: ~3200 (not really tracked)

July 2017: Midyear check

• Weight: 199 lb
  • Body Fat: 20% (caliper)
  • Caloric intake: 3200 cal (tracked)

December 2017: End bulking phase

• Weight: 207 lb
  • Body Fat: 20%
  • Caloric intake: 3400 cal (tracked)
    I weighed myself daily, but did not start recording the numbers until July

Photos at end of bulking phase (December 2017)

My blood pressure has always been high (~140/90), and my blood work has been marginal (Cholesterol, HDL, LDL, glucose, etc…). I want to see if prepping for the competition will improve them.
I track my blood pressure daily, and publish the numbers here.